National Guidelines & Standards

This section includes current state and national plans and guidelines related to falls prevention.

Accreditation Standards

The Aged Care Standards and Accreditation Agency have a listing of theAccreditation Standards required for an Aged Care Facility, which is provided in a simple fact sheet format. The full legislation is The Quality of Care Principles 1997.

National Guidelines

The National guidelines ‘Preventing falls and harm from falls in older people: Best Practice Guidelines for Australian Hospitals, Residential Aged Care Facilities and Community Care 2009’, was developed to reduce the number of falls experienced by older people in care and the harm endured from them.

The guidelines are designed to inform clinical practice and assist hospitals, residential aged care facilities and community care providers develop and implement practices that reduce the falls experienced by those receiving care and the harm sustained from falls.

Restraint Guidelines

There are restraint guidelines for Nurses and Midwives in South Australia that should be followed whenever restraints are used.

As defined within these guidelines a restraint is:
Any device or action that interferes with the ability of a person to make decisions or restricts their free movement. It may be classified by the nature of the control mechanisms such as:
• verbal threats and intimidation;
• physical use of mechanical restraints including equipment that can be used as restraints, applied to the person;
• chemical control through administering sedatives or psychotropic medication for the purpose of restraint;
• environmental controls, including seclusion which prevents a person’s exit.

Delirium Care Pathways

Produced by the Health Care for Older Australians Standing Committee 2011, this booklet includes pathways for patients/clients, carers and practitioners across care settings. Click here to access this document.